Réaliser des économies d'énergie dans l'extraction du pétrole et du gaz

En 2016, la Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) a collaboré avec Foresight pour trouver et valider des solutions technologiques susceptibles de remplacer ou de compléter les méthodes conventionnelles de production d'eau chaude dans les exploitations minières nouvelles ou existantes, sans utiliser les ressources de vapeur existantes (ou nouvelles) à des fins d'échange de chaleur.

Terminé
Statistiques d'impact

Le défi de la production d'eau chaude ARCTIC

Afin de promouvoir les objectifs de durabilité de son entreprise membre, Imperial Oil, la Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) s'est associée à Foresight Canada pour lancer un défi d'innovation visant à trouver des solutions susceptibles de réduire l'intensité énergétique de ses chaudières commerciales alimentées au gaz naturel. 

Le gagnant du défi, Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd., a proposé une solution qui a permis non seulement d'économiser de l'énergie, mais aussi de réduire les émissions et l'intensité de la consommation d'eau. À la suite de ce défi, l'Impériale a installé six unités ConDex de Combustion and Energy Systems, conçues pour récupérer l'énergie résiduelle des chaudières utilisées pour l'exploitation des sables bitumineux en Alberta.

  • Foresight Canada Horizontal
  • logo du ces
  • COSIA logo_HORIZONTAL RGB (1) (1)
  • Impérial couleur (1)

Écouter l'article complet

Sponsor du défi :

COSIA et Alberta Innovates

Gagnant du défi :

Combustion and Energy System Ltd.

Coordinateurs du défi :

Delphi Group et Tessellate 

Le défi

Les processus d'exploitation et d'extraction des sables bitumineux nécessitent de l'eau chaude à l'échelle commerciale entre 20 et 90 °C, qui est généralement produite indirectement par contact avec la vapeur produite dans les chaudières alimentées au gaz naturel, les unités de cogénération et la chaleur résiduelle. 

En 2016, la Canada's Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) a travaillé avec Foresight pour trouver et valider des solutions technologiques qui pourraient remplacer ou compléter les approches conventionnelles de production d'eau chaude dans les opérations minières nouvelles ou existantes sans utiliser les ressources de vapeur existantes (ou nouvelles) à des fins d'échange de chaleur. 

La solution

Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd. a été sélectionné comme gagnant du Mining Hot Water Production Challenge pour sa solution innovante ConDex. Combustion and Energy Systems est l'un des principaux fournisseurs mondiaux de systèmes de récupération de chaleur à condensation et d'efficacité énergétique conçus sur mesure, exclusifs et brevetés, destinés à des clients industriels et institutionnels du monde entier. En améliorant l'efficacité énergétique des centrales électriques et des processus de leurs clients, ils leur permettent d'économiser de l'argent sur les coûts de carburant, de réduire leurs émissions de carbone et de récupérer de l'eau réutilisable grâce à l'utilisation de leurs systèmes Condex - un système de récupération de la chaleur de condensation et d'efficacité énergétique conçu sur mesure.

"Ce que nous constatons aujourd'hui, c'est que les gens savent que si notre solution ConDex fonctionne sur le site de Kearl de l'Impériale, ils peuvent nous faire confiance pour qu'elle fonctionne pratiquement n'importe où".

Cam Veitch Vice-président, Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd.
Cam Veitch

Résultats pour les partenaires industriels

Le lauréat, Combustion and Energy Systems, a été sélectionné en mars 2018, après quoi Imperial est passé à la phase de démonstration sur le terrain, qui s'est achevée en mars 2020.

À la suite d'un projet de démonstration réussi qui a permis de réaliser des économies d'énergie, d'eau et de coûts, l'Impériale a décidé d'acquérir d'autres systèmes ConDex pour le site de Kearl. Entre 2021 et 2023, Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd. a livré cinq autres systèmes ConDex à grande échelle à l'Impériale. 

Le projet a permis de réaliser d'importantes économies d'énergie :

    220k tonnes de CO2

    L'Impériale devrait réduire ses émissions de 220 000 tonnes de CO2 par an, ce qui équivaut à retirer 47 000 véhicules de la circulation.

    700 millions de litres d'eau

    L'installation complète devrait permettre de réduire la consommation d'eau du site de l'Impériale de 700 millions de litres par an.

    Réduction du gaz naturel

    En capturant la chaleur résiduelle et en l'utilisant pour préchauffer l'eau de traitement dans le système de distribution, la technologie ConDex permet de réduire la quantité de gaz naturel utilisée sur le site de Kearl, qui est brûlé pour chauffer l'eau de traitement sur le site.

    29,4 millions de dollars économisés

    Actuellement, au prix du marché, il en coûte environ 1 000 dollars pour éliminer une tonne de CO2 à l'aide des technologies CCUS existantes. En investissant dans ce défi - 15,6 millions de dollars pour le projet de démonstration initial impliquant une unité - ils ont économisé 29,4 millions de dollars.

    Pour Imperial Oil, ce projet représente une étape importante dans la réalisation de ses objectifs de développement durable, à savoir une exploitation nette zéro d'ici à 2050.

    Résultats pour les innovateurs

    Pour Combustion and Energy Systems, la réalisation de ce défi a servi de phare à sa clientèle. Les systèmes ConDex utilisés dans le cadre du projet Kearl étaient les plus grands construits par l'entreprise à ce jour, ils ont été déployés dans un environnement très difficile et ont validé les compétences technologiques de l'équipe.

    Depuis l'achèvement du défi de production d'eau chaude minière, l'équipe a trouvé des clients dans de nombreux secteurs, notamment les pâtes et papiers, les aliments et les boissons, la production et la fabrication de produits chimiques, et d'autres encore. 

    Contexte du défi

    Le défi de la production d'eau chaude minière était le troisième des six défis du programme ARCTIC, qui a été conçu et lancé pour répondre au besoin identifié d'une stratégie plus axée sur la demande pour stimuler l'innovation dans l'Ouest du Canada afin de répondre principalement aux besoins des industries des ressources de base du Canada. ARCTIC s'est attaché à aider les entreprises du secteur des ressources à accroître leur compétitivité en répondant à l'évolution de la demande du marché et aux préoccupations liées au développement responsable des ressources, en veillant à ce que les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) qui mettent au point des solutions innovantes pour le secteur des ressources soient guidées par les exigences des clients et du marché. 

    Au moment où le projet a été lancé en 2014, le groupe de pays du G7 venait d'appeler à des réductions importantes des émissions mondiales de gaz à effet de serre et à une économie mondiale sans carbone d'ici 2100. Les pays membres, dont le Canada, s'étaient engagés à "développer et déployer des technologies innovantes" pour transformer les secteurs de l'énergie d'ici 2050. Le projet ARCTIC répondait à ce besoin et, depuis son lancement, le secteur des technologies propres basées sur les ressources s'est transformé et s'est considérablement développé en réponse à l'évolution rapide de l'environnement commercial et réglementaire, à l'urgence du changement climatique et aux avancées technologiques.

Finding Energy Savings in Oil and Gas Mining and Extraction

In 2016, Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) worked with Foresight to source and vet technological solutions that could replace or supplement conventional hot water production approaches in either new or existing mining operations without using existing (or new) steam resources for heat exchange purposes.

Completed
Impact Stats

July 2016 to March 2018

The ARCTIC Hot Water Production Challenge

To further the sustainability goals of their member company, Imperial Oil, Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) partnered with Foresight Canada to run an innovation challenge seeking solutions that could reduce the energy intensity of its commercial-scale natural gas-fired boilers. 

Challenge winner Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd. delivered a solution that not only saved energy, but reduced emissions and water use intensity as well. As a result of the challenge, Imperial installed six of Combustion and Energy System’s ConDex units designed to recover waste energy from boilers used for oil sands mining operations in Alberta.

  • Foresight Canada Horizontal
  • ces logo
  • COSIA logo_HORIZONTAL RGB (1) (1)
  • Imperial full colour (1)

Challenge Sponsor:

COSIA and Alberta Innovates

Challenge Winner:

Combustion and Energy System Ltd.

Challenge Coordinators:

Delphi Group and Tessellate 

The Challenge

Oil sands mining and extraction processes require commercial scale hot water in the 20-90 °C range, which is typically produced indirectly through contact with steam produced in natural gas fired boilers, and cogeneration units and waste heat. 

In 2016, the Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) worked with Foresight to source and vet technological solutions that could replace or supplement conventional hot water production approaches in either new or existing mining operations without using existing (or new) steam resources for heat exchange purposes. 

The Solution

Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd. was selected as the winner of the Mining Hot Water Production Challenge for their innovative ConDex solution. Combustion and Energy Systems is a leading global supplier of custom designed, proprietary and patented condensing heat recovery and energy efficiency systems to industrial and institutional clients worldwide. By improving the energy efficiency of customer’s power plants and processes, they save clients money on fuel costs, reduce their carbon emissions, and recover reusable water through the use of their Condex systems—a custom designed condensing heat recovery and energy efficiency system.

"What we're seeing now is that people know that if our ConDex solution works at Imperial's Kearl Site, that we can be trusted for it to work virtually anywhere.”

Cam Veitch Vice President, Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd.
Cam Veitch

Outcomes for the Industry Partners

The winner, Combustion and Energy Systems, was selected in March, 2018, after which Imperial moved onto the field demonstration phase, which concluded in March, 2020.

Following a successful demonstration project that delivered energy, water, and cost savings, Imperial moved forward with procuring additional ConDex systems for the Kearl site. Between 2021 and 2023 Combustion and Energy Systems Ltd. delivered five additional large-scale ConDex systems to Imperial. 

The project has resulted in significant energy savings:

    220k tonnes of CO2

    Imperial is expected to see emissions reductions of 220,000 tonnes of CO2 per year, which is the equivalent of removing 47,000 vehicles from the road.

    700M litres of Water

    The full installation is expected to reduce Imperial’s site water consumption by 700 million liters per year.

    Reduced Natural Gas

    By capturing waste heat and using it to preheat the process water in the utility system, the ConDex technology enables the reduction of the amount of natural gas used at the Kearl site, which is burned to heat process water on site.

    $29.4M Saved

    Currently, at the going market rate, it costs roughly $1,000 to remove one tonne of CO2 using existing CCUS technologies. By investing in this challenge—$15.6 million for the initial demonstration project involving one unit—they saved $29.4 million.

    For Imperial Oil, this project represents a significant step toward their sustainability objectives of achieving net zero operations by 2050.

    Outcomes for the Innovators

    For Combustion and Energy Systems, the completion of this challenge has acted as a beacon to their customer base. The ConDex systems used in the Kearl project were the largest constructed by the company to date, were deployed in a very harsh environment, and validated the technological competence of their team.

    Since the completion of the Mining Hot Water Production Challenge, their team has found clients in many industries, including pulp and paper, food and beverage, chemical production and manufacturing, and others. 

    Challenge Background

    The Mining Hot Water Production Challenge was the third of six challenges in the ARCTIC program, which was conceived and launched to meet an identified need for a more demand-pull strategy for driving innovation in Western Canada to primarily meet the needs of Canada’s bedrock resource industries. ARCTIC focused on helping resource companies increase their competitiveness by responding to shifting market demands and concerns around responsible development of resources by making sure that the small-to-medium sized (SME) companies developing innovative solutions for the resource sector were driven by customer and market requirements. 

    At the time the project launched in 2014, the G7 group of countries had just called for major cuts in global greenhouse gas emissions and a carbon-free global economy by 2100. Member countries, including Canada, had committed to “developing and deploying innovative technologies” to transform the energy sectors by 2050.  The ARCTIC project was a response to that need, and since its launch, the resource-based cleantech sector has transformed and grown substantially in response to a rapidly changing business and regulatory environment, climate change urgency and technological advances.

    Listen to the Full Story

    Want to hear the full story straight from the mouths of the individuals involved? Check out our audio presentation of this case study here.